Sound as Prayer: Songs and Mantras for the Way

with Ana Hernández

Monday, March 13, 2023

6-7pm Ireland*

2-3pm Eastern

11am-12pm Pacific

*Due to Daylight Saving Time  this event will be 6-7pm Ireland time (2pm Eastern, 11am Pacific). Please be sure to double check your timezone on this day.

Program Description

The voice you’ve been given is part of your gift to the world and is unique in the universe. Join us as we re-discover God with and in our voices; listen deeply and experience the ways sound touches spirit; explore chants to heal ourselves and the world; reflect on sounds that open (and close) our hearts. Learn how your voice lives in your body and how to use it to generate health and healing.
 

This event will be recorded and made available within 24 hours of the program. We will send an email notification when it is ready for viewing.

Your Guide for the Journey

Ana Hernández

Ana Hernández

Ana Hernández is a composer, song leader, activist, and facilitator creating tunes to help us to be present as we build loving and just community through skillful action. She teaches chanting as a spiritual practice to join our hearts together and learn to support one another. Working to strengthen community ties across cultural difference, her focus is on racial justice as deep inner work, while her activism is grounded in contemplative practice and presence.

Ana collects, composes, and records chants and short tunes, and is a theomusicologist with the NYS Poor People’s Campaign. She believes deeply that there is a leader in every chair and that God welcomes absolutely everybody. She loves singing, collaboration, poetry, beauty, play, and diving deep.

She’s the author of The Sacred Art of Chant: Preparing to Practice (SkylightPaths/Turner) and is currently releasing her ninth album, Banquet of Love. Her songs and chants are published in numerous places, and she can be heard on Apple Music, iTunes, SoundCloud, Spotify and more. She’s listed as Ana Hernandez, Sending You Light, The Miserable Offenders, HARC (with Ruth Cunningham), and Eternal Spirit (w/ Sr. Helena Marie, chs).

For more info:  AnaHernandez.org. To hear her current projects go here: Patreon.com/AnaHernandez

Registration

Your registration constitutes an agreement with our online program Terms and Conditions below.

We offer a sliding scale of 3 fees for payment. The reduced fee for those who have lost their income and the sponsorship fee helps support our ability to offer scholarships. In an effort to keep this program accessible, please carefully consider both your own resources as well as honoring the expense, time, and energy required to run these programs and keep our work sustainable. Thank you!
 
Please be careful to enter your correct email address when you register. 

$12

I will pay the Standard fee

$16

I would like to Sponsor others

$8

I would like to make use of scholarship funds

Terms and Conditions

Please consider your purchase carefully and review the many free materials we have on our website to make sure the program will be a good fit or get in touch with any questions.

We ask that you honor our work by not sharing the program materials with others who are not enrolled.

Please contact us for permission to quote in settings beyond the program

If you choose a payment plan and stop payment before fulfilling the commitment without contacting us to make other arrangements, your access to the program will be removed.